How to recover deleted files and restore previous versions in Microsoft Teams

Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on facebook
Facebook

Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams is now the go to application for financial and medical practices.    It provides team collaboration, securely connecting all of your employees to your resources stored in Teams.

What do you do when you want to recover your deleted files or want to revert back to the document that you were working on from last week.

Any data created in Teams uses SharePoint to store this data.   Teams acts as a front end to SharePoint so your data is stored in SharePoint.

SharePoint Backup

SharePoint has an inbuilt document management system.   As documents get created and then updated, there is version control going on in the background.    You can revert back to a previous version of a document, restore it back to a point in time or even restore it back over the top of the current version.

There are quite a few settings available that allow you to set how many versions of deleted items are kept, how long to hold deleted data in the recycle bin, and so on.    Proper governance is important to reduce the risk of inadvertently deleting content you may need and having a way to get it back if accidentally deleted.    This should be performed by someone skilled enough to administer your Office 365 tenant.

Restoring Data

Here is how you would do it.

Click on Files in Microsoft Teams Menu Teams

2 Click on Open in SharePoint SharePoint

3 Login into your Microsoft 365 account if prompted.

4 Click on Recycle bin from the left hand menu.

Recycle

5 Select the files you want to recover then click on Restore.

Going back in Time

If you want to revert back to a previous version, it is the same process as recovering the delete items;

  1. Open the location that your file is in SharePoint
  2. Find the file that you have been working on
  3. Right click on the 3 dots next to the Share icon
  4. Select Version history
  5. Choose the files that you want and click on the down arrow and select Restore
  6. You will be prompted that the current version will be replace with the selected version
  7. Press OK to restore

You will notice the old version of your document or file that has been recovered will be created, in addition to the existing file that was there already.

Want to stay up to date with useful tech-tips?  

Follow us on LinkedIn, Facebook or Twitter to be notified when we post new content. Or, even better, scroll down to the very bottom of this page to sign up for our Newsletter. We only send them once a month and you can always unsubscribe.